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  • Les formats acceptés

    28 janvier 2010, par

    Les commandes suivantes permettent d’avoir des informations sur les formats et codecs gérés par l’installation local de ffmpeg :
    ffmpeg -codecs ffmpeg -formats
    Les format videos acceptés en entrée
    Cette liste est non exhaustive, elle met en exergue les principaux formats utilisés : h264 : H.264 / AVC / MPEG-4 AVC / MPEG-4 part 10 m4v : raw MPEG-4 video format flv : Flash Video (FLV) / Sorenson Spark / Sorenson H.263 Theora wmv :
    Les formats vidéos de sortie possibles
    Dans un premier temps on (...)

  • Ajouter notes et légendes aux images

    7 février 2011, par

    Pour pouvoir ajouter notes et légendes aux images, la première étape est d’installer le plugin "Légendes".
    Une fois le plugin activé, vous pouvez le configurer dans l’espace de configuration afin de modifier les droits de création / modification et de suppression des notes. Par défaut seuls les administrateurs du site peuvent ajouter des notes aux images.
    Modification lors de l’ajout d’un média
    Lors de l’ajout d’un média de type "image" un nouveau bouton apparait au dessus de la prévisualisation (...)

  • Organiser par catégorie

    17 mai 2013, par

    Dans MédiaSPIP, une rubrique a 2 noms : catégorie et rubrique.
    Les différents documents stockés dans MédiaSPIP peuvent être rangés dans différentes catégories. On peut créer une catégorie en cliquant sur "publier une catégorie" dans le menu publier en haut à droite ( après authentification ). Une catégorie peut être rangée dans une autre catégorie aussi ce qui fait qu’on peut construire une arborescence de catégories.
    Lors de la publication prochaine d’un document, la nouvelle catégorie créée sera proposée (...)

Sur d’autres sites (3645)

  • Installing full multimedia stack on server (ffmpeg,mp4box,sox,mplayer)

    29 avril 2015, par hdezela

    I’ve had a trusty text file with all(?) the steps I need to set up a full multimedia stack on a RHEL compatible server (CentOS, AWS Linux, etc.) for a few years now. However, sometimes some things are missing and I need to revise it. I know it is not complete so I’m asking for suggestions/modifications in order to get a good - and public - list of how to install all this stuff easily.

    Ideally, I want to be able to run through the file and end up with a system that’ll take any media file and be able to convert/encode/decode/whatever with it.

    This is what I have :

    yum install mesa-libGL-devel mesa-libGLU-devel libXi-devel libXmu-devel freeglut-devel freeglut ncurses-devel
    cd /usr/local/src
    mkdir /usr/local/src/tmp
    chmod 777 /usr/local/src/tmp
    export TMPDIR=/usr/local/src/tmp

    wget http://www.tortall.net/projects/yasm/releases/yasm-1.3.0.tar.gz
    wget http://downloads.xiph.org/releases/ogg/libogg-1.3.2.tar.gz
    wget http://downloads.xiph.org/releases/vorbis/libvorbis-1.3.4.tar.gz
    wget http://downloads.xiph.org/releases/theora/libtheora-1.1.1.tar.gz
    wget ftp://ftp.videolan.org/pub/videolan/x264/snapshots/last_stable_x264.tar.bz2
    wget http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/opencore-amr/opencore-amr/opencore-amr-0.1.3.tar.gz
    wget http://downloads.sourceforge.net/faac/faac-1.28.tar.gz
    wget http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/lame/lame/3.99/lame-3.99.5.tar.gz
    wget http://webm.googlecode.com/files/libvpx-v1.3.0.zip
    wget http://downloads.sourceforge.net/project/yamdi/yamdi/1.9/yamdi-1.9.tar.gz
    wget http://rtmpdump.mplayerhq.hu/download/rtmpdump-2.3.tgz
    git clone https://github.com/FFmpeg/FFmpeg.git
    wget http://downloads.sourceforge.net/gpac/gpac-0.5.0.tar.gz
    wget http://downloads.sourceforge.net/gpac/gpac_extra_libs-0.5.0.tar.gz
    wget http://www.mplayerhq.hu/MPlayer/releases/codecs/all-20110131.tar.bz2
    wget http://www.mplayerhq.hu/MPlayer/releases/MPlayer-1.1.tar.xz
    wget https://bitbucket.org/acoustid/chromaprint/downloads/chromaprint-fpcalc-1.1-linux-x86_64.tar.gz
    wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/mad/files/madplay/0.15.2b/madplay-0.15.2b.tar.gz
    wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/mad/files/libmad/0.15.1b/libmad-0.15.1b.tar.gz
    wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/mad/files/libid3tag/0.15.1b/libid3tag-0.15.1b.tar.gz
    wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/sox/files/sox/14.4.1/sox-14.4.1.tar.gz
    wget http://downloads.xiph.org/releases/ao/libao-1.2.0.tar.gz
    wget http://downloads.sourceforge.net/twolame/twolame-0.3.13.tar.gz
    wget http://www.mega-nerd.com/libsndfile/files/libsndfile-1.0.25.tar.gz
    wget http://www.wavpack.com/wavpack-4.70.0.tar.bz2
    wget http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/patches/blfs/svn/libmad-0.15.1b-fixes-1.patch

    tar zxf yasm-1.3.0.tar.gz
    tar zxf libogg-1.3.2.tar.gz
    tar zxf libvorbis-1.3.4.tar.gz
    tar zxf libtheora-1.1.1.tar.gz
    tar jxf last_stable_x264.tar.bz2
    tar zxf opencore-amr-0.1.3.tar.gz
    tar zxf faac-1.28.tar.gz
    tar zxf lame-3.99.5.tar.gz
    unzip libvpx-v1.3.0.zip
    tar xzf yamdi-1.9.tar.gz
    tar xzf rtmpdump-2.3.tgz
    tar zxvf gpac-0.5.0.tar.gz
    tar zxvf gpac_extra_libs-0.5.0.tar.gz
    tar jxf all-20110131.tar.bz2
    tar jxf MPlayer-1.1.tar.xz
    tar xf chromaprint-fpcalc-1.1-linux-x86_64.tar.gz
    tar xf madplay-0.15.2b.tar.gz
    tar xf libmad-0.15.1b.tar.gz
    tar xf libid3tag-0.15.1b.tar.gz
    tar xf sox-14.4.1.tar.gz
    tar xf libao-1.2.0.tar.gz
    tar xf twolame-0.3.13.tar.gz
    tar xf libsndfile-1.0.25.tar.gz
    tar jxf wavpack-4.70.0.tar.bz2

    [YASM]
       cd /usr/local/src/yasm-1.3.0
       ./configure && make && make install
       yasm --version
       ldconfig
    [LIBOGG]
       cd /usr/local/src/libogg-1.3.2
       ./configure && make clean && make && make install
       ls /usr/local/lib/libogg*
       ldconfig
    [LIBVORBIS]
       cd /usr/local/src/libvorbis-1.3.4
       ./configure && make clean && make && make install
       ls /usr/local/lib/libvorbis*
       ldconfig
    [LIBTHEORA]
       cd /usr/local/src/libtheora-1.1.1
       ./configure && make clean && make && make install
       ls /usr/local/lib/libtheora*
       ldconfig
    [x264]
       cd /usr/local/src/x264-snapshot-[***]
       ./configure --enable-shared && make clean && make && make install
       ls /usr/local/lib/libx264*
       ldconfig
    [AMR]
       cd /usr/local/src/opencore-amr-0.1.3
       ./configure && make clean && make && make install
       ls /usr/local/lib/libopencore*
       ldconfig
    [FAAC]
       cd /usr/local/src/faac-1.28
       vi /usr/local/src/faac-1.28/common/mp4v2/mpeg4ip.h [ELIMINAR]:char *strcasestr(const char *haystack, const char *needle);
       ./configure && make && make install
       ls /usr/local/lib/libfaac*
       ldconfig
    [LAME]
       cd /usr/local/src/lame-3.99.5
       ./configure && make clean && make && make install
       ls /usr/local/lib/libmp3lame*
       ldconfig
    [GPAC+MP4BOX]
       cd  /sr/local/src/gpac
       cp -r ../gpac_extra_libs/* extra_lib/
       chmod +x configure
       ./configure
       make lib
       make apps
       make install-lib
       make install
       cp bin/gcc/libgpac.so /usr/lib
       ldconfig
    [LIBVPX]
       cd /usr/local/src/libvpx-v1.3.0
       ./configure --enable-vp8  --enable-pic --enable-shared && make && make install
       ls /usr/local/lib/libvpx*
       ldconfig
    [LIBRTMP]
       cd /usr/local/src/rtmpdump-2.3
       make SYS=posix
       make install
       ls /usr/local/lib/librtm*
       ldconfig
    [FFMPEG]
       cd /usr/local/src/FFmpeg
       export PKG_CONFIG_PATH="${PKG_CONFIG_PATH}:/usr/local/lib/pkgconfig"
       ./configure  --enable-gpl --enable-version3 --enable-nonfree --enable-shared --enable-libmp3lame --enable-libx264 --enable-libfaac --enable-libvpx --enable-libvorbis --enable-libopencore-amrnb --enable-libopencore-amrwb --enable-libopencore-amrnb  --enable-libtheora --enable-librtmp
       make clean && make && make install
       make tools/qt-faststart
       cp tools/qt-faststart /usr/local/bin/
       ldconfig
       ffmpeg
       qt-faststart
    [MPLAYER]
       mv /usr/local/src/all-20110131 /usr/local/lib/codecs/
       chmod -R 755 /usr/local/lib/codecs/
       cd MPlayer-1-1
       make clean
       ./configure && make && make install
       ldconfig
    [YAMDI]
       cd /usr/local/src/yamdi-1.9
       gcc yamdi.c -o yamdi -O2 -Wall
       strip yamdi
       cp yamdi /usr/bin/yamdi
       yamdi -h
    [MEDIAINFO]
       rpm -ivh http://downloads.sourceforge.net/zenlib/libzen0-0.4.31-1.x86_64.CentOS_6.rpm
       rpm -ivh http://sourceforge.net/projects/mediainfo/files/binary/libmediainfo0/0.7.73/libmediainfo0-0.7.73-1.x86_64.CentOS_6.rpm
       rpm -ivh http://sourceforge.net/projects/mediainfo/files/binary/mediainfo/0.7.73/mediainfo-0.7.73-1.x86_64.CentOS_6.rpm
    [CHROMAPRINT]
       cp /usr/local/src/chromaprint-fpcalc-1.1-linux-x86_64/fpcalc /usr/local/bin/fpcalc
    [LIBAO]
       cd /usr/local/src/libao-1.2.0
       ./configure
       make
       make install
       ldconfig
    [LIBSND]
       cd /usr/local/src/libsndfile-1.0.25
       ./configure
       make
       make install
       ldconfig
    [TWOLAME]
       cd /usr/local/src/twolame-0.3.13
       ./configure
       make
       make install
       ldconfig
    [WAVPACK]
       cd /usr/local/src/wavpack-4.70.0
       ./configure
       make
       make install
       ldconfig
    [LIBMAD]
       cd /usr/local/src/libmad-0.15.1b
       patch -Np1 -i ../libmad-0.15.1b-fixes-1.patch
       sed "s@AM_CONFIG_HEADER@AC_CONFIG_HEADERS@g" -i configure.ac
       touch NEWS AUTHORS ChangeLog
       autoreconf -fi
       ./configure --enable-shared
       make
       make install
       ldconfig
    [ID3]
       cd /usr/local/src/libid3tag-0.15.1b
       ./configure --enable-shared
       make
       make install
       ldconfig
    [MADPLAY]
       cd /usr/local/src/madplay-0.15.2b
       ./configure --enable-shared
       make
       make install
       ldconfig
    [SOX]
       cd /usr/local/src/sox-14.4.1
       ./configure
       make -s
       make install
       ldconfig
  • What Is Incrementality & Why Is It Important in Marketing ?

    26 mars 2024, par Erin

    Imagine this : you just launched your latest campaign and it was a major success.

    You blew last month’s results out of the water.

    You combined a variety of tactics, channels and ad creatives to make it work.

    Now, it’s time to build the next campaign.

    The only issue ?

    You don’t know what made it successful or how much your recent efforts impacted the results.

    You’ve been building your brand for years. You’ve built up a variety of marketing pillars that are working for you. So, how do you know how much of your campaign is from years of effort or a new tactic you just implemented ?

    The key is incrementality.

    This is a way to properly attribute the right weight to your marketing tactics.

    In this article, we break down what incrementality is in marketing, how it differs from traditional attribution and how you can calculate and track it to grow your business.

    What is incrementality in marketing ?

    Incrementality in marketing is growth that can be directly credited to a marketing effort above and beyond the success of the branding.

    It looks at how much a specific tactic positively impacted a campaign on top of overall branding and marketing strategies.

    What is incrementally in marketing?

    For example, this could be how much a specific tactic, campaign or channel helped increase conversions, email sign-ups or organic traffic.

    The primary purpose of incrementally in marketing is to more accurately determine the impact a single marketing variable had on the success of a project.

    It removes every other factor and isolates the specific method to help marketers double down on that strategy or move on to new tactics.

    With Matomo, you can track conversions simply. With our last non-direct channel attribution system, you’ll be able to quickly see what channels are converting (and which aren’t) so you can gain insights into incrementality. 

    See why over 1 million websites choose Matomo today.

    Try Matomo for Free

    Get the web insights you need, without compromising data accuracy.

    No credit card required

    How incrementality differs from attribution

    In marketing and advertising, it’s crucial to understand what tactics and activities drive growth.

    Incrementality and attribution help marketers and business owners understand what efforts impact their results.

    But they’re not the same.

    Here’s how they differ :

    Incrementality vs. attribution

    Incrementality explained

    Incrementality measures how much a specific marketing campaign or activity drives additional sales or growth.

    Simply put, it’s analysing the difference between having never implemented the campaign (or tactic or channel) in the first place versus the impact of the activity.

    In other words, how much revenue would you have generated this month without campaign A ?

    And how much additional revenue did you generate directly due to campaign A ?

    The reality is that dozens of factors impact revenue and growth.

    You aren’t just pouring your marketing into one specific channel or campaign at a time.

    Chances are, you’ve got your hands on several marketing initiatives like SEO, PPC, organic social media, paid search, email marketing and more.

    Beyond that, you’ve built a brand with a not-so-tangible impact on your recurring revenue.

    So, the question is, if you took away your new campaign, would you still be generating the same amount of revenue ?

    And, if you add in that campaign, how much additional revenue and growth did it directly create ?

    That is incrementality. It’s how much a campaign went above and beyond to add new revenue that wouldn’t have been there otherwise.

    So, how does attribution play into all of this ?

    Attribution explained

    Attribution is simply the process of assigning credit for a conversion to a particular marketing touchpoint.

    While incrementality is about narrowing down the overall revenue impact from a particular campaign, attribution seeks to point to a specific channel to attribute a sale.

    For example, in any given marketing campaign, you have a few marketing tactics.

    Let’s say you’re launching a limited-time product.

    You might have :

    • Paid ads via Facebook and Instagram
    • A blog post sharing how the product works
    • Organic social media posts on Instagram and TikTok
    • Email waitlist campaign building excitement around the upcoming product
    • SMS campaigns to share a limited-time discount

    So, when the time comes for the sale launch, and you generate $30,000 in revenue, what channel gets the credit ?

    Do you give credit to the paid ads on Facebook ? What about Instagram ? They got people to follow you and got them on the email waitlist.

    Do you give credit to email for reminding people of the upcoming sale ? What about your social media posts that reminded people there ?

    Or do you credit your SMS campaign that shared a limited-time discount ?

    Which channel is responsible for the sale ?

    This is what attribution is all about.

    It’s about giving credit where credit is due.

    The reason you want to attribute credit ? So you know what’s working and can double down your efforts on the high-impact marketing activities and channels.

    Leveraging incrementality and attribution together

    Incrementality and attribution aren’t competing methods of analysing what’s working.

    They’re complementary to one another and go hand in hand.

    You can (and should) use attribution and incrementality in your marketing to help understand what activities, campaigns and channels are making the biggest incremental impact on your business growth.

    Why it’s important to measure incrementality

    Incrementality is crucial to measure if you want to pour your time, money and effort into the right marketing channels and tactics.

    Here are a few reasons why you need to measure incrementality if you want to be successful with your marketing and grow your business :

    1. Accurate data

    If you want to be an effective marketer, you need to be accurate.

    You can’t blindly start marketing campaigns in hopes that you will sell many products or services.

    That’s not how it works.

    Sure, you’ll probably make some sales here and there. But to truly be effective with your work, you must measure your activities and channels correctly.

    Incrementality helps you see how each channel, tactic or campaign made a difference in your marketing.

    Matomo gives you 100% accurate data on your website activities. Unlike Google Analytics, we don’t use data sampling which limits how much data is analysed.

    Screenshot example of the Matomo dashboard

    2. Helps you to best determine the right tactics for success

    How can you plan your marketing strategy if you don’t know what’s working ?

    Think about it.

    You’ll be blindly sailing the seas without a compass telling you where to go.

    Measuring incrementality in your marketing tactics and channels helps you understand the best tactics.

    It shows you what’s moving the needle (and what’s not).

    Once you can see the most impactful tactics and channels, you can forge future campaigns that you know will work.

    3. Allows you to get the most out of your marketing budget

    Since incrementality sheds light on what’s moving your business forward, you can confidently implement your efforts on the right tactics and channels.

    Guess what happens when you start doubling down on the most impactful activities ?

    You start increasing revenue, decreasing ad spend and getting a higher return on investment.

    The result is that you will get more out of your marketing budget.

    Not only will you boost revenue, but you’ll also be able to boost profit margins since you’re not wasting money on ineffective tactics.

    4. Increase traffic

    When you see what’s truly working in your business, you can figure out what channels and tactics you should be working.

    Incrementality helps you understand not only what your best revenue tactics are but also what channels and campaigns are bringing in the most traffic.

    When you can increase traffic, you can increase your overall marketing impact.

    5. Increase revenue

    Finally, with increased traffic, the inevitable result is more conversions.

    More conversions mean more revenue.

    Incrementality gives you a vision of the tactics and channels that are converting the best.

    If you can see that your SMS campaigns are driving the best ROI, then you know that you’ll grow your revenue by pouring more into acquiring SMS leads.

    By calculating incrementality regularly, you can rest assured that you’re only investing time and money into the most impactful activities in terms of revenue generation.

    How to calculate and test incrementality in marketing

    Now that you understand how incrementality works and why it’s important to calculate, the question is : 

    How do you calculate and conduct incrementality tests ?

    Given the ever-changing marketing landscape, it’s crucial to understand how to calculate and test incrementally in your business.

    If you’re not sure how incrementality testing works, then follow these simple steps :

    How to test and analyze incrementality in marketing?

    Your first step to get an incrementality measurement is to conduct what’s referred to as a “holdout test.”

    It’s not a robust test, but it’s an easy way to get the ball rolling with incrementality.

    Here’s how it works :

    1. Choose your target audience.

    With Matomo’s segmentation feature, you can get pretty specific with your target audience, such as :

      • Visitors from the UK
      • Returning visitors
      • Mobile users
      • Visitors who clicked on a specific ad
    1. Split your audience into two groups :
      • Control group (60% of the segment)
      • Test group (40% of the segment)
    1. Target the control group with your marketing tactic (the simpler the tactic, the better).
    1. Target the test group with a different marketing tactic.
    1. Analyse the results. The difference between the control and test groups is the incremental lift in results. The new marketing tactic is either more effective or not.
    1. Repeat the test with a new control group (with an updated tactic) and a new test group (with a new tactic).

    Matomo can help you analyse the results of your campaigns in our Goals feature. Set up business objectives so you can easily track different goals like conversions.

    Try Matomo for Free

    Get the web insights you need, without compromising data accuracy.

    No credit card required

    Here’s an example of how this incrementality testing could look in real life.

    Imagine a fitness retailer wants to start showing Facebook ads in their marketing mix.

    The marketing manager decided to conduct a holdout test. If we match our example below with the steps above, this is how the holdout test might look.

    1. They choose people who’ve purchased free weights in the past as their target audience (see how that segmentation works ?).
    2. They split this segment into a control group and a test group.
    3. For this test, they direct their regular marketing campaign to the control group (60% of the segment). The campaign includes promoting a 20% off sale on organic social media posts, email marketing, and SMS.
    4. They direct their regular marketing campaign plus Facebook ads to the test group (40% of the segment).
    5. They ran the campaign for three weeks with the goal for sale conversions and noticed :
      • The control group had a 1.5% conversion rate.
      • The test group (with Facebook ads) had a 2.1% conversion rate.
      • In this scenario, they could see the group who saw the Facebook ads convert better.
      • They created the following formula to measure the incremental lift of the Facebook ads :
    Calculation: Incrementality in marketing.
      • Here’s how the calculation works out : (2.1% – 1.5%) / 1.5% = 40%

    The Facebook ads had a positive 40% incremental lift in conversions during the sale.

    Incrementality testing isn’t a one-and-done process, though.

    While this first test is a great sign for the marketing manager, it doesn’t mean they should immediately throw all their money into Facebook ads.

    They should continue conducting tests to verify the initial test.

    Use Matomo to track incrementality today

    Incrementality can give you insights into exactly what’s working in your marketing (and what’s not) so you can design proven strategies to grow your business.

    If you want more help tracking your marketing efforts, try Matomo today.

    Our web analytics and behaviour analytics platform gives you firsthand data on your website visitors you can use to craft effective marketing strategies.

    Matomo provides 100% accurate data. Unlike other major web analytics platforms, we don’t do data sampling. What you see is what’s really going on in your website. That way, you can make more informed decisions for better results.

    At Matomo, we take privacy very seriously and include several advanced privacy protections to ensure you are in full control.

    As a fully compliant web analytics solution, we’re fully compliant with some of the world’s strictest privacy regulations like GDPR. With Matomo, you get peace of mind knowing you can make data-driven decisions while also being compliant. 

    If you’re ready to launch a data-driven marketing strategy today and grow your business, get started with our 21-day free trial now. No credit card required.

  • CCPA vs GDPR : Understanding Their Impact on Data Analytics

    19 mars, par Alex Carmona

    With over 400 million internet users in Europe and 331 million in the US (11% of which reside in California alone), understanding the nuances of privacy laws like the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) is crucial for compliant and ethical consumer data collection.

    Navigating this compliance landscape can be challenging for businesses serving European and Californian markets.

    This guide explores the key differences between CCPA and GDPR, their impact on data analytics, and how to ensure your business meets these essential privacy requirements.

    What is the California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) ?

    The California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) is a data privacy law that gives California consumers control over their personal information. It applies to for-profit businesses operating in California that meet specific criteria related to revenue, data collection and sales.

    Origins and purpose

    The CCPA addresses growing concerns about data privacy and how businesses use personal information in California. The act passed in 2018 and went into effect on 1 January 2020.

    Key features

    • Grants consumers the right to know what personal information is collected
    • Provides the right to delete personal information
    • Allows consumers to opt out of the sale of their personal information
    • Prohibits discrimination against consumers who exercise their CCPA rights

    Key definitions under the CCPA framework

    • Business : A for-profit entity doing business in California and meeting one or more of these conditions :
      • Has annual gross revenues over $25 million ;
      • Buys, receives, sells or shares 50,000 or more consumers’ personal information ; or
      • Derives 50% or more of its annual revenues from selling consumers’ personal information
    • Consumer : A natural person who is a California resident
    • Personal Information : Information that could be linked to, related to or used to identify a consumer or household, such as online identifiers, IP addresses, email addresses, social security numbers, cookie identifiers and more

    What is the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) ?

    The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) is a data privacy and protection law passed by the European Union (EU). It’s one of the strongest and most influential data privacy laws worldwide and applies to all organisations that process the personal data of individuals in the EU.

    Origins and purpose

    The GDPR was passed in 2016 and went into effect on 25 May 2018. It aims to harmonise data privacy laws in Europe and give people in the European Economic Area (EEA) privacy rights and control over their data.

    Key features

    • Applies to all organisations that process the personal data of individuals in the EEA
    • Grants individuals a wide range of privacy rights over their data
    • Requires organisations to obtain explicit and informed consent for most data processing
    • Mandates appropriate security measures to protect personal data
    • Imposes significant fines and penalties for non-compliance

    Key definitions under the GDPR framework

    • Data Subject : An identified or identifiable person
    • Personal Data : Any information relating to a data subject
    • Data Controller : The entity or organisation that determines how personal data is processed and what for
    • Data Processor : The entity or organisation that processes the data on behalf of the controller

    CCPA vs. GDPR : Key similarities

    The CCPA and GDPR enhance consumer privacy rights and give individuals greater control over their data.

    DimensionCCPAGDPR
    PurposeProtect consumer privacyProtect individual data rights
    Key RightsRight to access, delete and opt out of saleRight to access, rectify, erase and restrict processing
    TransparencyRequires transparency around data collection and useRequires transparency about data collection, processing and use

    CCPA vs. GDPR : Key differences

    While they have similar purposes, the CCPA and GDPR differ significantly in their scope, approach and specific requirements.

    DimensionCCPAGDPR
    ScopeFor-profit businesses onlyAll organisations processing EU consumer data
    Territorial ReachCalifornia-based natural personsAll data subjects within the EEA
    ConsentOpt-out systemOpt-in system
    PenaltiesPer violation based on its intentional or negligent natureCase-by-case based on comprehensive assessment
    Individual RightsNarrower (relative to GDPR)Broader (relative to CCPA)

    CCPA vs. GDPR : A multi-dimensional comparison

    The previous sections gave a broad overview of the similarities and differences between CCPA and GDPR. Let’s now examine nine key dimensions where these regulations converge or diverge and discuss their impact on data analytics.

    Regulatory overlap between GDPR and CCPA.

    #1. Scope and territorial reach

    The GDPR has a much broader scope than the CCPA. It applies to all organisations that process the personal data of individuals in the EEA, regardless of their business model, purpose or physical location.

    The CCPA applies to medium and large for-profit businesses that derive a substantial portion of their earnings from selling Californian consumers’ personal information. It doesn’t apply to non-profits, government agencies or smaller for-profit companies.

    Impact on data analytics

    The difference in scope significantly impacts data analytics practices. Smaller businesses may not need to comply with either regulation, some may only need to follow the CCPA, while most global businesses must comply with both. This often requires different methods for collecting and processing data in California, Europe, and elsewhere.

    #2. Penalties and fines for non-compliance

    Both the CCPA and GDPR impose penalties for non-compliance, but the severity of fines differs significantly :

    CCPAMaximum penalty
    $2,500 per unintentional violation
    $7,500 per intentional violation

    “Per violation” means per violation per impacted consumer. For example, three intentional CCPA violations affecting 1,000 consumers would result in 3,000 total violations and a $22.5 million maximum penalty (3,000 × $7,500).

    The largest CCPA fine to date was Zoom’s $85 million settlement in 2021.

    In contrast, the GDPR has resulted in 2,248 fines totalling almost €6.6 billion since 2018 — €2.4 billion of which were for non-compliance.

    GDPRMaximum penalty
    €20 million or
    4% of all revenue earned the previous year

    So far, the biggest fine imposed under the GDPR was Meta’s €1.2 billion fine in May 2023 — 15 times more than Zoom had to pay California.

    Impact on data analytics

    The significant difference in potential fines demonstrates the importance of regulatory compliance for data analytics professionals. Non-compliance can have severe financial consequences, directly affecting budget allocation and business operations.

    Businesses must ensure their data collection, storage and processing practices comply with regulations in both Europe and California.

    Choosing privacy-first, compliance-ready analytics platforms like Matomo is instrumental for mitigating non-compliance risks.

    #3. Data subject rights and consumer rights

    The CCPA and GDPR give people similar rights over their data, but their limitations and details differ.

    Rights common to the CCPA and GDPR

    • Right to Access/Know : People can access their personal information and learn what data is collected, its source, its purpose and how it’s shared
    • Right to Delete/Erasure : People can request the deletion of their personal information, with some exceptions
    • Right to Non-Discrimination : Businesses can’t discriminate against people who exercise their privacy rights

    Consumer rights unique to the CCPA

    • Right to Opt Out of Sale : Consumers can prohibit the sale of their personal information
    • Right to Notice : Businesses must inform consumers about data collection practices
    • Right to Disclosure : Consumers can request specific information collected about them

    Data subject rights unique to the GDPR

    • Right to be Informed : Broader transparency requirements encompass data retention, automated decision-making and international transfers
    • Right to Rectification : Data subjects may request the correction of inaccurate data
    • Right to Restrict Processing : Consumers may limit data use in certain situations
    • Right to Data Portability : Businesses must provide individual consumer data in a secure, portable format when requested
    • Right to Withdraw Consent : Consumers may withdraw previously granted consent to data processing
    CCPAGDPR
    Right to Access or Know
    Right to Delete or Erase
    Right to Non-Discrimination
    Right to Opt-Out
    Right to Notice
    Right to Disclosure
    Right to be Informed
    Right to Rectification
    Right to Restrict Processing
    Right to Data Portability
    Right to Withdraw Consent

    Impact on data analytics

    Data analysts must understand these rights and ensure compliance with both regulations, which could potentially require separate data handling processes for EU and California consumers.

    #4. Opt-out vs. opt-in

    The CCPA generally follows an opt-out model, while the GDPR requires explicit consent from individuals before processing their data.

    Impact on data analytics

    For CCPA compliance, businesses can collect data by default if they provide opt-out mechanisms. Failing to process opt-out requests can result in severe penalties, like Sephora’s $1.2 million fine.

    Under GDPR, organisations must obtain explicit consent before collecting any data, which can limit the amount of data available for analysis.

    #5. Parental consent

    The CCPA and GDPR have provisions regarding parental consent for processing children’s data. The CCPA requires parental consent for children under 13, while the GDPR sets the age at 16, though member states can lower it to 13.

    Impact on data analytics

    This requirement significantly impacts businesses targeting younger audiences. In Europe and the US, companies must implement different methods to verify users’ ages and obtain parental consent when necessary.

    The California Attorney General’s Office recently fined Tilting Point Media LLC $500,000 for sharing children’s data without parental consent.

    #6. Data security requirements

    Both regulations require businesses to implement adequate security measures to protect personal data. However, the GDPR has more prescriptive requirements, outlining specific security measures and emphasising a risk-based approach.

    Impact on data analytics

    Data analytics professionals must ensure that data is processed and stored securely to avoid breaches and potential fines.

    #7. International data transfers

    Both the CCPA and GDPR address international data transfers. Under the CCPA, businesses must only inform consumers about international transfers. The GDPR has stricter requirements, including ensuring adequate data protection safeguards for transfers outside the EEA.

    A world map illustration.

    Other rules, like the Payment Services Directive 2 (PSD2), also affect international data transfers, especially in the financial industry.

    PSD2 requires strong customer authentication and secure communication channels for payment services. This adds complexity to cross-border data flows.

    Impact on data analytics

    The primary impact is on businesses serving European residents from outside Europe. Processing data within the European Union is typically advisable. Meta’s record-breaking €1.2 billion fine was specifically for transferring data from the EEA to the US without sufficient safeguards.

    Choosing the right analytics platform helps avoid these issues.

    For example, Matomo offers a free, open-source, self-hosted analytics platform you can deploy anywhere. You can also choose a managed, GDPR-compliant cloud analytics solution with all data storage and processing servers within the EU (in Germany), ensuring your data never leaves the EEA.

    #8. Enforcement mechanisms

    The California Attorney General is responsible for enforcing CCPA requirements, while in Europe, the Data Protection Authority (DPA) in each EU member state enforces GDPR requirements.

    Impact on data analytics

    Data analytics professionals should be familiar with their respective enforcement bodies and their powers to support compliance efforts and minimise the risk of fines and penalties.

    #9. Legal basis for personal data processing

    The GDPR outlines six legal grounds for processing personal data :

    • Consent
    • Contract
    • Legal obligation
    • Vital interests
    • Public task
    • Legitimate interests

    The CCPA doesn’t explicitly define lawful bases but focuses on consumer rights and transparency in general.

    Impact on data analytics

    Businesses subject to the GDPR must identify and document a valid lawful basis for each processing activity.

    Compliance rules under CCPA and GDPR

    Complying with the CCPA and GDPR requires a comprehensive approach to data privacy. Here’s a summary of the essential compliance rules for each framework :

    Key compliance points under CCPA and GDPR.

    CCPA compliance rules

    • Create clear and concise privacy policies outlining data collection and use practices
    • Give consumers the right to opt-out
    • Respond to consumer requests to access, delete and correct their personal information
    • Implement reasonable security measures for consumers’ personal data protection
    • Never discriminate against consumers who exercise their CCPA rights

    GDPR compliance rules

    • Obtain explicit and informed consent for data processing activities
    • Implement technical and organisational controls to safeguard personal data
    • Designate a Data Protection Officer (DPO) if necessary
    • Perform data protection impact assessments (DPIAs) for high-risk processing activities
    • Maintain records of processing activities
    • Promptly report data breaches to supervisory authorities

    Navigating the CCPA and GDPR with confidence

    Understanding the nuances of the CCPA and GDPR is crucial for businesses operating in the US and Europe. These regulations significantly impact data collection and analytics practices.

    Implementing robust data security practices and prioritising privacy and compliance are essential to avoid severe penalties and build trust with today’s privacy-conscious consumers.

    Privacy-centric analytics platforms like Matomo enable businesses to collect, analyse and use data responsibly and transparently, extracting valuable insights while maintaining compliance with both CCPA and GDPR requirements.

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